Scruffy, Indie folk-rock from Transylvania

Quick news: we have released a new track, called “Why?” and you can download it on the Indie Folker music page.

Regarding the song: there was some confusion. I’m sorry I didn’t get the chance to explain, but here it is: my backup band had to choose a name before we could make the song public. We’ve already had one nailed down, but we’ve changed our minds in the last minute, so we couldn’t make the song public.

We’ve scheduled an emergency meeting at a local cafe last night to discuss the name issue.

BUT they’ve settled upon a name in the end… and so they decided to call themselves “The Wonder Fools”. From now on, this is how they will be known.

We have two more songs in the making with The Wonder Fools – and also a video for one of our recordings – which we will most likely get done by the end of May or June. I will keep you informed regarding how things progress on The Wonder Fool front.

Just take a look at that list of band names! The Wonder Fools wasn’t on there, btw.

It has been a busy time in the Indie Folker universe with the release of “Why?” and the musical I’m working on. I have already mentioned that we have a show planned on the 14th of March when the play will be presented on stage. This is the same date that I decided to publish the record that contains songs written for the play. My first musical album, dear everyone. Cheers!

Dear Friends,

Christmas Time is almost upon us… once again…

In the meantime, Halloween has passed, and I am very happy with what my Halloween song, Where Kindness Be, has managed to do for me as far as subscribers go. And I am very happy with the song also!

But now, it is time to move on to new projects – and here’s what I have planned:

If you remember, I have recorded my “Monsters In The Christmas Album” EP about a year ago and it was available for download on my website for one month. If you haven’t had the chance to get the album then, I will be re-releasing it again this year – November 7 is the date you have to watch out for! The EP will be on my music page for a limited amount of time, and it will be free, as I have already mentioned.

The writing and recording of these original Christmas songs took up about one month of my life – it was an intensive time, I must add – and I also managed to shoot this be-low-budget music video for the first track off the album.

I am hoping to get a second video done before December for the song Is Christmas Time Just A Dream?, so I definitely urge you to keep watching if you don’t want to miss all this good stuff!

You can subscribe to the Indie Folker Youtube channel to keep track of new videos I upload


you can subscribe to my Newsletter, where you will be notified of these things before anyone else.

Best Indie Folk Albums Of 2011

Posted by admin On October - 21 - 2011 2 COMMENTS

Update: I have published a new post about best albums of 2012 right here: Best Indie Folk Albums Of 2012

This list of albums is not at all like other indie charts, it is basically just my personal take on what new releases are worth the listen from some of the best indie folk bands and artists out there.

So here we go:

1. Fleet Foxes – Helplessness Blues
Helplessness Blues is a more powerful, and a lot more complex release than the amazing debut album from the Fleet Foxes. You will hear everything you’ve grown to like about this band, and even more. Definitely one of the top indie folk albums of the year!

2. Iron & Wine – Kiss Each Other Clean
Sam Beam is changing before our very… ears. On Kiss Each Other Clean he takes the band set-up from where he left it on The Shepherd’s Dog and takes it to a completely different universe.

3. Amos Lee – Mission Bell
Willie Nelson himself decided to drop in on this one. Nevertheless, Mission Bell is a good album allover even if we disregard the guest performers (Lucinda Williams and Calexico also appear). Amos Lee doesn’t offer any surprises, he just presents himself the way we’ve grown accustomed to. These are well written and carefully orchestrated songs that put you in a good mood. What more can I say?

4. The Decemberists – The King Is Dead
The King Is Dead is a very well written album, the production is meticulous and the songs are just great. This album is, in some sense, the kind I would aspire to write. As they claim themselves, The King Is Dead is probably the “most pastoral, rustic record The Decemberists have ever made”.

5. The Low Anthem – Smart Flesh
Personally, I have been waiting for this release. I’ve been counting the days until I can get my hands on it, dissect it to the bone and steal every note and word. The Low Anthem have recorded this album in a pasta sauce factory and… it sounds exactly like the album that you would record in such a place. Abandonment, slowly unfolding acoustic sounds, eerie, almost incantation-like, melodies and harmonies. This is what comes to mind, when you listen to Smart Flesh.

6. Beirut – The Rip Tide
I have become very familiar with Beirut’s music in the past year, and I have been expecting this new release. Beirut have matured into this sound that they now represent, and this is exactly what I was hoping and expecting to get from them. I wasn’t disappointed.

7. Noah And The Whale – Last Night On Earth
I have to admit, I didn’t like this band initially. Noah And The Wale just sounded like a bunch of wacky teenagers to me in the beginning. Naturally, this changed over time, I’ve grown quite close to some of their songs since then. One word of caution, though: this album might surprise you in ways you wouldn’t expect – right from the first track in fact.

8. Emmy The Great – Virtue
I wasn’t a big fan of Emmy The Great before all this, but Virtue got me hooked. The songwriting on this record is so unusually real, so intimate, so personal, so virtuous, so good!

9. Release The Sunbird – Come Back To Us
Many were surprised when Zach Rogue from Rogue Wave stepped out as Release The Sunbird. Personally, I thought Rogue Wave was a solo project with musicians involved, but I later found out, it grew into a full band – so Release The Sunbird is kind of his solo project, “but not really”. In any case, Come Back To Us is a fine album, with very well written music, carefully carved lyrics and strong melodies. It’s a songwriter’s delight.

10. Bonnie “Prince” Billy – Wolfroy Goes To Town
Will Oldham, otherwise known as Bonnie “Prince” Billy, has released a ton of material this year, so the anticipation for this release wasn’t that big on my part, but there are so many good songs on here, that I would have had to be a fool not to give it a listen. Oldham is one of the most outrageous indie folk singer-songwriters I’ve ever heard – ever – and he is in exceptional shape on this album. His talent as a songwriter sometimes overwhelms me.

“Monsters In Rome” Physical CDs Ran Out

Posted by admin On September - 20 - 2011 ADD COMMENTS

That’s it, boys and girl. There are no more Physical CDs for my “Monsters In Rome” record left. I have released the record 15 months ago, and I have no more CDs left. That’s it!

You can still get the music by downloading it from my music page – it is absolutely free.

If you want to give me money anyway, you can do so by donating. I am really happy to receive donations, as I have more to spend on advertising and getting the word out there.

You can also share the music by choosing a player from the Share/Embed link on the music page. You should get a player something like the one above to share on your Facebook, blog or website. Thanks for the support!

As a bonus, I’ve put the ‘Jabulani‘ single back on the site for free download. In memory of the FIFA World Cup of 2010.